Openings of the Week

04/15/2010

Art show openings, readings, and panel discussions; in Manhattan and Brooklyn, April 15-18.

Openings

Thursday 4/15

Barbad Golshiri: Nothing Is Left To Tell @ Thomas Erben Gallery, 526 W 26th St., 4th floor, 6 – 8:30 pm, www.thomaserben.com

Nina Yuen: White Blindness @ Lombard-Freid Projects, 531 W 26th St., 6-8 pm, www.lombard-freid.com

Jon Kessler: Predators @ Pace Prints Chelsea, 521 W 26th St., 6-8 pm, www.paceprints.com

Nicolas Touron: The Kingdom @ Virgil de Voldère Gallery, 526 W 26th St., Rm 416, 6-8 pm, www.virgilgallery.com

Rina Castelnuovo: Moments from Israel @ Andrea Meislin Gallery, 526 W 26th St., 2nd floor, 6-8 pm, www.andreameislin.com

Meredeth Turshen: Sudden Appearences @ Viridian Artists, 530 W 25th St., room 407, 5-8 pm, www.viridianartists.com

Camomile Hixon: Sparkle @ Tria Gallery, 531 W 25th St., ground floor #5, 6-8 pm, www.triagallery.net

Matthias Schaller: Elfering–1642 @ Danziger Projects, 534 W 24th St., 6-8 pm, www.danzigerprojects.com

Group Show: Between the Bricks and the Blood: Transgressive Typologies @ Steven Kasher Gallery, 521 W 23rd St., 6-8 pm, www.stevenkasher.com

Amy Sillman: Transformer (or, how many lightbulbs does it take to change a painting?); and Anna Sew Hoy: Holes @ Skkema Jenkins & Co., 530 W 22nd St., 6-8 pm, www.sikkemajenkinsco.com

Siobhan Liddell: Ordinary Magic @ CRG Gallery, 6-8 pm, 535 W 22nd St., 3rd floor, www.crggallery.com

Jac Leirner: Osso @ Yvon Lambert Gallery, 550 W 21st St., 6-8 pm, www.yvon-lambert.com

Sa’dia Rehman and Gazelle Samizay: Two Person Show @ The Guild Art Gallery, 45 W 21st St., 6:30-8:30 pm, www.theguildny.com

*Shari Belafonte: Postcards from Cuba @ Chair and the Maiden Gallery, 19 Christopher St., 6-8 pm, www.chairandthemaiden.com

Group Show: Drawing Out Student Artwork from the Drawing Connections Program @ The Drawing Center, 35 Wooster St., 5-7 pm, www.drawingcenter.org

*Christopher Payne: Asylum @ Clic Gallery, 255 Centre St., 6-9 pm, www.clicgallery.com

Jack Robinson: Scannograms @ Gallery Nine5, 24 Spring St., 7-9 pm, www.gallerynine5.com

*Christopher Griffith: States @ Randall Scott Gallery, 111 Front St. Suite 204, Brooklyn, 6-8:30 pm, www.randallscottgallery.com

Anna Ravliuc: Arms of Shadow @ Fez Art Cafe, 240 Prospect Park West, Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, www.fezartcafe.com

Heed the Machine: Illustrious @ Saint Cecilia Convent, 21 Monitor St., Brooklyn, 7-11 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Friday 4/16

Patrick Faigenbaum: Patrick Faigenbaum: People and Places @ Barbara Mathes Gallery, 22 E 80th St., 6-8 pm, www.barbaramathesgallery.com

Laura McCallum and Hilda Shen: Reconstructing Paper @ Cheryl McGinnis Gallery, 555 Eighth Ave., Suite 710 (at 38th St.), 6-8 pm, www.cherylmcginnisgallery.com

Nicholas Steindorf and Reid Strelow: Regeneration: Root Beer Float Social @ New York Center for Art & Media Studies, 44 W 28th St., 7th floor, 6-8 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

*Jim Campbell: Exploded View @ Bryce Wolkowitz Gallery, 505 W 24th St., 6-8 pm, www.brycewolkowitz.com

Cybil Lake: Wild Flowers Moving Fast @ HiChristina Gallery, 163 Eldridge St., 8-10 pm, www.artslant.com/ny/events

de la Haba: Dawn of a New Era @ NY Studio Gallery, 154 Stanton St., 7-9 pm, www.nystudiogallery.com

Hanna Liden: As Black as Your Hat @ Half Gallery, 208 Forsyth St., 6 – 8 pm, www.halfgallery.com

*Luke Abiol: Winter’s Berlin; and Brian St. Cyr: Fly-Cage @ +KRIS GRAVES PROJECTS, 111 Front St., Suit 224, Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, krisgravesprojects.com

Group Show: An Act of Mischievous Misreading (AAOMM) @ ISCP (International Studio and Curatorial Program), 1040 Metropolitan Ave., Brooklyn, 6 – 8 pm, www.iscp-nyc.org

Shelton Walsmith: Day For Night @ Causey Contemporary, 92 Wythe Ave., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.causeycontemporary.com

Erica Reade, Lemia Monet Bodden, and Jon Michael Anzalone: INDUSTRIOUS * SENTIMENT * TRANSITION @ Division of Human Works, 1501 Broadway, Brooklyn, 6-10 pm, www.divisionofhumanworks.org

Group Show: X.×. @ Art 101, 101 Grand St., Brooklyn, 7-9 pm, www.art101brooklyn.com

Chuck Kelton: Run From View, and Day For Night by Shelton Walsmith @ Causey Contemporary, 92 Wythe Ave., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.causeycontemporary.com

Michelle Carollo: RAT-TAT-TAT @ Soapbox Gallery, 636 Dean St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.soapboxgallery.org

JM Rizzi: Of Clouds and Something Else @ Mighty Tanaka, 68 Jay St., Suite 416, Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, mightytanaka.com

Saturday 4/17

Brent Green: Gravity Was Everywhere Back Then @ Andrew Edlin Gallery, 134 Tenth Ave., 6-9 pm, www.edlingallery.com

*Jenifer Poon: A Temporary Space @ Claire Oliver Gallery, 513 W 26th St., 6 – 8 pm, www.claireoliver.com

Karel Funk @ 303 Gallery, 547 W 21st St., 6-8 pm, www.303gallery.com

Professional Women Photographers: Americana @ MH Art & Framing Gallery, 9 W 20th St., 6-9 pm, www.mhartandframe.com

Opie Otterstad: World Series Victory Art Celebration @ Pop International Galleries, 473 W Broadway, 10 am-6 pm, www.popinternational.com

Daniel C. Boyer, Group show of digital artists from around the world: The Brooklyn Internationale @ MOCA: Museum of Computer Art, 139 11th St., Brooklyn, 5-8 pm, www.artslant.com/ny/events

Group Show: English Kills – The 3 Year Anniversary @ English Kills, 114 Forrest St. #1, Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, englishkillsartgallery.com

Whitney Claflin: Nothing To Blame But Gemini @ Real Fine Arts, 673 Meeker Ave., Brooklyn, 7 – 10 pm, www.realfinearts.com

Cristina Biaggi, Brigitte Bouquet, Todd Miguel, Sophie Sejourne, Win Zibeon: Earth + Goddess @ Clover’s Fine Art Gallery, 338 Atlantic Ave., Brooklyn, 4-6 pm, www.cloversfineartgalleryandcafe.com

Sunday 4/18

*Sharon Lawless @ RHV Fine Art, 683 6th Ave., Brooklyn, 6-8 pm, www.rhvfineart.com

Readings and Panel Discussions

Friday 1/16

The Young Monet: Reading and Q&A with Stephanie Cowell @ Kris Waldherr Art and Words, 1501 Newkirk Ave. (entrance on Marlborough Rd), Brooklyn, 7-9 pm, www.artandwords.com/events.html

Saturday 4/17

*Select Gender Curators Panel Discussion @ Farmani Gallery, 111 Front St., Ste. 212, Brooklyn, 7-9 pm, www.farmnigallery.com

* recommended

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: