Openings of the Week

04/29/2010

Art show openings and lectures, April 29-May 1.

Openings

Thursday 4/29

Group show: Spring Open Studio @ Lower East Side Printshop, 306 W 37th St., 6th floor, 6-9 pm, www.printshop.org

Marian Osher: Fearless Flying! @ Ceres Gallery, 547 W 27th St., Suite 201, 6-8 pm, www.ceresgallery.org

Richard Barnes: Animal Logic @ Foley Gallery, 547 W 27th St., 5th floor, (b/t 10th and 11th Ave.), 6-8 pm, www.foleygallery.com

Group Show: IMPERMANENCE @ Hendershot Gallery, 547 W 27th St., Suite 632, 6-8 pm, www.hendershotgallery.com

Shirazeh Houshiary: Light Darkness @ Lehmann Maupin, 540 W 26th St., 6-8 pm, www.lehmannmaupin.com

Julie Heffernan: Boy, Oh Boy @ PPOW Gallery, 511 W 25th St., Room 301, 6-8 pm, ppowgallery.com

Irving Barrett: Wild Life @ Noho Gallery in Chelsea, 530 W 25th St., 4th floor, 6-8 pm, nohogallery.com

Harriet Goldstein: ABOUT A BEACH; and Busser Howell: CIRCLE SQUARED @ Phoenix Gallery, 210 11th Ave., Suite 902, 6-8 pm, www.phoenix-gallery.com

SVA MFA Fine Arts: Open Studios @ School of Visual Arts, 133 W 21st St., 8th and 9th floor, 5-9 pm, mfafineart.sva.edu/openstudios

*Group Show: Transfer Function @ ZieherSmith, 516 W 20th St., 6-8 pm, www.ziehersmith.com

Mamma Andersson and Jockum Nordstrom: Who is sleeping on my pillow @ David Zwirner Gallery, 525 W 19th St., 6-8 pm, www.davidzwirner.com

Rick Prol: Break Out @ Love Shine, 543 E 6th St., 6-9 pm, www.loveshinenyc.com

Valerie Caris Blitz: WOMAN IN YESOD @ ABC NO RIO, 156 Rivington St., (b/t Clinton & Suffolk), 7-9 pm, www.abcnorio.org

Will Insley: ONECITY @ Westwood Gallery, 568 Broadway, Suite 501, 6-8 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits/

*Zofia Bogusz: Solo Art Show @ Beast, 638 Bergen St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, zofiaart.com

Jason Grunwald: Was it all just a dream? @ Eastern District, 43 Bogart St., Brooklyn, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Friday 4/30

John Giorno: THANX 4 NOTHING @ Nicole Klagsbrun Gallery, 526 W 26th St., #213, 6-8 pm, nicoleklagsbrun.com

Unleashed @ Visual Arts Gallery, 601 W 26 St., 15th floor, 6-8 pm, www.sva.edu

*Group show: Night Fishing and Kadar Brock @ Thierry Goldberg Projects, 5 Rivington St., 6-8 pm, thierrygoldberg.com

Volume Black @ 929 Broadway, 6-9 pm, www.volumeblack.com

Ryan V. Brennan: Beneath the Unraveling Horizon @ National Arts Club, 15 Gramercy Park South, 6-10 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Mobile Uploads @ Sloane NYC, 174 Mott St, 7-11 pm, www.artslant.com/ny/events

Odinga, Kai Barrow and Malcolm Goff: Kwiza: To Come @ The Brecht Forum, 451 West St., 7-8 pm, brechtforum.org

*Liu Bolin: On Fire @ Eli Klein Fine Art, 462 West Broadway, 6-9 pm, ekfineart.com

Group Show: HELL, NO! @ Saint Cecilia Convent, 21 Monitor St., Brooklyn, 7-11 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Group Show: VISIONARY/VISIONS ARE SCARY @
French Neon (pop up space), 343 13th St., Brooklyn, 7-9 pm, frenchneon.blogspot.com

Vladimir Bachinsky @ LILOVEVE Gallery, 457 Grand St., Brooklyn, 5-9 pm, www.liloveve.com

Alex White Mazzarella: Society Under Fire @ Soapbox Gallery, 636 Dean St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.soapboxgallery.org

Group show: The sh sound was difficult @ Louis V E.S.P., 140 Jackson St., Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, www.louisvesp.com

Tim Lokiec: new paintings @ Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, 438 Union Ave., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, klausgallery.com

Monica Canilao: We Are Dust @ Cinders Gallery, 103 Havemeyer St., Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, blog.cindersgallery.com

Alex White Mazzarella: Society Under Fire @ Soapbox Gallery, 636 Dean St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.soapboxgallery.org

Saturday 5/1

Matthew James: Supreme Creation @ The Onyx Chelsea, 360 Eighth Ave & 28th St., 6-8 pm, www.mattjames.org

Claude Monet: Late Work @ Gagosian Gallery, 522 W 21st St., 6-8 pm, www.gagosian.com

Pinkney Herbert & Lisa Corinne Davis @ Allen Projects, 526 W 26th St., Suite 403 (b/t 10th and 11th Ave.), 6-8 pm, www.allengalleryonline.com

Edward Koren: Parallel Play: Drawings 1979 – 2010 @ Luise Ross Gallery, 511 W 25th St., #307, 3-5 pm, www.luiserossgallery.com

Susan Wides: Art & Entertainment @ Kim Foster Gallery, 529 W 20th St., 6-8 pm, www.kimfostergallery.com

Group Show: InsideOUT @ Cuchifritos, 120 Essex Street, Delancey / Rivington (inside the Essex St. Food Market at the South end of the building), www.aai-nyc.org/cuchifritos

Ann Craven: Flowers @ Maccarone, 630 Greenwich St., 6-8 pm, www.maccarone.net

Group Show: power to the people @ Feature Inc, 131 Allen St., 3-8 pm, www.featureinc.com

Shepard Fairey: May Day @ Deitch Projects, 18 Wooster St., 6-8 pm, www.deitch.com

Kara Hearn: Tremendous @ Recess, 41 Grand St., 6:30-9 pm, recessart.org

Eric Ayotte, Eliza Myrie, Owen Rundquist, Karin Stothart and Brian Zeeger: Drawing Blood @ WORK Gallery, 65 Union St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.redtinshack.com

*Sniff: {CTS} creative thrift shop @ Dam Stuhltrager Gallery, 38 Marcy Ave., 6-10 pm, www.creativethriftshop.com

Group Show: No Plans For Today @ Fun Times Gallery, 257 3rd Avenue, Brooklyn, 6-8 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Lecture

Friday 4/29

Daughters of Turan: Almagul Menlibayeva in Conversation with Independent Curator Leeza Ahmady and Gallerist Priska C. Juschka @ Priska Juschka Fine Art, 547 W 27th St., 2nd floor, 7-8:30 pm, www.priskajuschkafineart.com

Saturday 5/1

Linda Stillman: An Artist Dialogue @ The Art Collection, The New York Public Library, 455 Fifth Ave., 3rd floor, 2-5 pm, www.nypl.org

*recommended

Advertisements

One Response to “Openings of the Week”

  1. Petphiche said

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, watch south park online

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: