Openings of the Week

05/19/2010

Art openings, festivals, and artist talks for May 19-23.

Festival

Art Festival: Hell’s Kitchen @ Artists in the Kitchen, Hell’s Kitchen, Friday-Sunday, www.artistsinthekitchen.org

Openings

Wednesday 5/19

*Erica Kapin: Stolen Moments @ Chair and the Maiden, 19 christopher street, 6-8 pm, www.chairandthemaiden.com

Thursday 5/20

John Zurier, Jason Fox, Richard Allen Morris: Paintings @ Peter Blum Gallery, 526 W 29th St., 6-8 pm, www.peterblumgallery.com

Kirsten Olson, Carla Goldberg, Michael Gaydos, Tom Holmes, Gary Jacketti, Grey Zeien, Lisa Zukowski: Bau in Chelsea @ Skylight Gallery, 538 W 29th St., 2nd floor, 6-9 pm, skylightgallerynyc.com

*Romain Bernini: Despite Walls and Landscapes @ Priska C. Juschka Fine Art, 547 W 27th St., 2nd floor, 6-9 pm, www.priskajuschkafineart.com

*Haeri Yoo: Body Hoarding @ Thomas Erben Gallery, 526 W 26th St., 4th floor, 6-8:30 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

*Group Show: Out of Line @ SLAG Gallery, 531 W 25th St., 6-8 pm, slaggallery.com

*Purchase College SUNY MFA Exhibition: Five Alive! @ Monya Rowe Gallery, 504 W 22nd St., 2nd floor, 6-8 pm, monyarowegallery.com

Claerwen James @ Flowers Gallery, 529 W 20th St., 3E, 6-8 pm, www.flowersgalleries.com

Kerry Downey and Jeremy Willis: You Can Have It All @ Spattered Columns, 491 Broadway, Suite 500, 6-8 pm, www.artconnectsnewyork.org

*Harvey Lloyd: Breaking the Light @ Pennington Gallery, 355 W Broadway 2nd floor, 6-9 pm, www.thepenningtongallery.com

Daniel Merriam: Taking Reality by Surprise @ Animazing Gallery, 54 Greene St., 6-9 pm, www.animazing.com/gallery

Adel Abidin: I’M SORRY; and Lyra Abueg Garcellano, Kwan Sheung Chi: Specific Gravity @ Location One, 26 Greene St., 6-8 pm, www.location1.org

Emmanuelle Vroelant: Emmanuelle Vroelant @ Pavillon d’Art Contemporain, 3 Wooster St., 6-8 pm, www.pavillon-art.com

Group Show: AIRspace 2010 @ Henry Street Settlement (Abrons Arts Center), 466 Grand St., 6-9 pm, www.henrystreet.org

Friday 5/21

*Jeffrey Tranchell @ John Connelly Presents, 625 W 27th St. (b/t 11th & 12th ave), 6-8 pm, www.johnconnellypresents.com

Liz Magic Laser: Chase @ Derek Eller Gallery, 615 W 27th St., 6-8 pm, www.derekeller.com

Yong Hee Kim: 7 days. @ Michael Mazzeo Gallery, 526 W 26th St., Suite 208, 6-8 pm, www.michaelmazzeo.com

Raphaele Shirley: 0910 Light Shots @ Chelsea Art Museum, 556 W 22nd St., 6-8 pm, www.chelseaartmuseum.org

*Burt Barr and Valerie Belin @ Sikkema Jenkins & Co., 530 W 22nd St., 6-8 pm, www.sikkemajenkinsco.com

Anna Gaskell: Turns Gravity; and Christian Vetter: The Presence of Absence @ Yvon Lambert Gallery, 550 W 21st St., 6-8 pm, www.yvon-lambert.com

Group Show: Optimismo Radical @ Josée Bienvenu Gallery, 529 W 20th St., 2nd floor, 6-8 pm, joseebienvenugallery.com

*Group Show: The Art Bazaar @ Lyons Wier Gallery, 175 Seventh Av2., (@ W 20th St.), 6-9 pm, lyonswiergallery.com

Group Show: “Otherworld” @ The Soho Gallery for Digital Art, 138 Sullivan St., 6:30-8:30 pm, www.sohodigart.com

Heterotopia @ Clemente Soto Velez Cultural Center, 107 Suffolk St. (b/t Rivington & Delancey), 5-8 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

Tea Bowls and Teawares II; and Hyun Ju Park: Out of Darkness…Light @ Causey Contemporary, 92 Wythe Ave., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.causeycontemporary.com

Domestic City: Methodology and Intuition @ Kidd Yellin, 133 Imlay St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, www.artcat.com/exhibits

AVOID pi & infinity: Babel Code- Osmotic Transmissions @ Mighty Tanaka Gallery, 68 Jay St., Suite #416, Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, mightytanaka.com

Saturday 5/22

Group Show: I.G.Y. @ Marianne Boesky Gallery 64th Street, 118 E 64th St., 6-9 pm, www.marianneboeskygallery.com

Robert Dandarov: Paintings, Drawings and Two Etchings @ Gallery MC, 549 W 52nd St., 8th floor, 6-9 pm, www.gallerymc.org

Alison Nguyen: The Kisses & Guns Show @ The Westside Rifle and Pistol Range, 20 W 20th St., 7- 9:30 pm, www.westsidepistolrange.com

Judith Schaechter: Beauty and the Beef @ Claire Oliver Gallery, 513 W 26th St., 6-8 pm, www.claireoliver.com

*Man Bartlett: #24hEcho @ The Hostess Project at PPOW Gallery, 511 West 25th Street, Room 301, 7-9 pm, manbartlett.com

Amy Gartrell: Whatever and Ever @ Daniel Reich Gallery, 537 W 23rd St., 7-9 pm, www.danielreichgallery.com

Rodney Graham: Music and Dance @ 303 Gallery, 547 W 21st St., 6-8 pm, www.303gallery.com

Michelle Frick, Geoff Henshall, Jongwang Lee, Veronica Torres: viscera @ Spice Factory, 71 Washington Ave., Brooklyn, 6-10 pm, spicefactorygallery.com

Alisha Kerlin: Cat and Mouse @ Real Fine Arts, 673 Meeker Ave., Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, www.realfinearts.com

Group Show: Art Sync Exhibition @ Soapbox Gallery, 636 Dean St., Brooklyn, 6-8 pm, www.soapboxgallery.org

Ken Madore and Hayley Hara: A Matter of Life and Death @ Sugar, 449 Troutman St., Brooklyn, 6-9 pm, sugarbushwick.com

Group Show: If You See Nothing Say Something @ The Invisible Dog
51 Bergen St., 6-10 pm, theinvisibledog.org

Group Show: Friends + Family @ Gowanus Studio Space, 119 8th St., Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, gowanusstudio.org

Group Show: “Made in Red Hook” @ Lucky Gallery, 176 Richards St., Brooklyn, 7-10 pm, luckygallery.com

Johan Kritzinger and Ian Couch: NA DIE GROOT TREK–After the Long Journey @ DRWR, 1254 Myrtle Ave., Brooklyn, 6-11 pm, www.artslant.com/ny/events

Sunday 5/22

Carol Benisatto: “Harlots and Homegrown Girls” @ Viridian Artists, 530 W 25th St., room 407, 3-6 pm, www.viridianartists.com

Louise Dudis @ RHV Fine Art, 683 6th Ave., Brooklyn, 6-8 pm, www.rhvfineart.com

Artist Talks

Saturday 5/22

Thom Donovan, Sreshta Rit Premnath: Project for an Archive of the Future Anterior @ Apexart, 291 Church St., 4-6 pm, www.apexart.org

*recommended

Advertisements

2 Responses to “Openings of the Week”

  1. CORRECTION: Yong Hee Kim, 7 days. Opening is on Friday, May 21, not Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: